WH #6: šŸ‘„AI can make my lips move with a photo, cows are disappearing, & more...

Find this interesting? Please share for maximum exposure.

In this weekā€™s update

  • šŸ‘„I can make my lips move using a photo

  • šŸ’¬All cows are retiring in 2030

  • šŸ”ØBuild ChatGPT from scratch

  • šŸ“šI started aĀ bookmark vault

-Howard Huang

Sponsor of this weekā€™s newsletter: Whatā€™s Huangā€™s Bookmark Vault.

What I read this week

OpenAI purchases AI.com for $11MšŸ˜³.

AI-powered Bing continues to roll out. Iā€™m still on the edge of my seat to get access. Meanwhile, the internet seems to love all of the mistakes itā€™s making. Simon Willisonā€™s blog does a good job tracking all of itā€™s funny perils.

The simulation is real ā€“ Linkin Park released a music video that got 15M views in one week. The music video was created using Kaiber, an AI music video generator.

What hasĀ Tim Urban been doing the last 6 years? (TLDR: Heā€™s about to release a book on February 21st). Heā€™s one of my favorite writers. Last weekā€™s newsletter I shared part 1 of his article on the AI revolution. Here is part 2 for this week. Highly recommend if you have 40 minutes.

Curious what didnā€™t make it in the newsletter? As I read articles throughout the week, I bookmark them in Notion. When I sit down to write this newsletter I review all of the articles Iā€™ve read for the week and only include the articles I felt was the most interesting. After I finish writing the newsletter I file away all of the links under the corresponding week in Notion and the process starts over. Get access everything I bookmark here.

What I watched this week

Outside the usual tech sectors we look for disruptive innovation, precision fermentation happening in agriculture is something that really piqued my interest. The company that can solve this at scale could be poised for exponential growth.

Precision Fermentation is promising to do the following in the next 10-15 years:

  • Provide high quality protein at 10x less cost than meat; while tasting indistinguishable from the real thing since itā€™s constructed at the molecular level. This is like next generation impossible burger.

  • Free up more than 500M+ acres of farm land (just in the US) back to its natural state, reducing massive amounts of carbon.

  • 100% eradicate the reliance on cows for the production of dairy and meat. World hunger is solved.

Here is the link to the research report done by RethinkX the video below references to. RethinkX is a think tank founded by Tony Seba, who did The Great Disruption presentation I mentioned last week. See how this all connects? šŸ˜‰

Both the YouTube video + the research report blows my friggin mind.

Learn ChatGPT from first principles. Do you really want to know how ChatGPT works? Likeā€¦really really reallllly want to?

Andrej Karpathy is a PhD Stanford grad, created and taught the first (and became the most popular) deep learning curriculum at Stanford. He is one of the founding members of OpenAI whom later joined Tesla as the Director of AI and Autopilot Vision. Most recently, he announced heā€™s joining back with OpenAI. In the video below he teaches how you can build ChatGPT from scratch through code.

What I did this week

I made 9 bold predictions of the impact ChatGPT has on SEO on my blog. Donā€™t like reading? I used AI to turn it into a YouTube video.

Downloaded Microsoft Edge - With all of that ChatGPT integration with Edge coming, Iā€™ve decided to preemptively download the browser as well as fully switch to Bing from Google as my default search. I still prefer Google.com. Old habits are hard to break.

Signed up for D-ID - An AI generative video creation platform. Itā€™s best party trick is being able to turn a selfie photo into a talking AI avatar. Affordable at a starting price of $5.99/month vs around $200/month+ for custom AI video avatars like Synethesia.io. Iā€™ll experiment with it and share my findings in the next newsletter.

Quote of the week

ā€œ2023: $30,000 to get a simple iPhone app created, $300 for a plumbing job.

i wonder what those relative prices will look like in 2028!

the likely coming divergence between changes to cognitive work and changes to physical work could be quite dramatic.ā€

ā€• Sam Altman, CEO OpenAI

Stop by and say hi. Love to hear what you guys think about the newsletter. See ya next week!