#5 What's Huang this week...

It's a bird, it's a plane, it's a bunch of UFO's?

#jokeoftheweek: What do you call a computer that can sing? Answer at the end of the newsletter.

In this week’s update

  • 💬ChatGPT tips

  • 🔍Google vs Microsoft compete for the next evolution of search

  • 🔨I fixed a Dyson

-Howard Huang

Sponsor of this week’s newsletter The Digital Marketing Tech Stack

What I read this week

ChatGPT Tips

I will live to 76 years old according to this death clock calculator.

MarketingExamples.com - Fantastic website I found that analyzes marketing examples.

What I watched this week

Bing is bringing Clippy back in the form of ChatGPT. Last week Bing hosted an event to unveil the new OpenAI powered Bing and Edge browser, ‘copilot for the web.’

My thoughts from the event:

  • Microsoft is leading in the attempt to disrupt a 20 year old search industry.

  • Alongside of displaying a list of websites based on user’s query, it’ll also output an answer based on content on websites, reducing the need for clicking on different search results to find the answer. SEO may morph into AEO (answer engine optimization).

  • With the use of Microsoft Edge, you can incorporate chat into everything that is web based not just through search.

  • Join waitlist to access to the new Bing here.

In response, Google held a presentation to unveil Bard (yes, their ChatGPT equivalent is named Lard, no wait whoops I mean Bard), which was widely criticized because it provided incorrect answers, oopses.

In a Financial Times interview with Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella he said this:

From now on, the [gross margin] of search is going to drop forever...There is such margin in search, which for us is incremental. For Google it’s not, they have to defend it all.

What I did this week

I’ve resurrected my blog and wrote my first blog post in over a year. It’s about How I launched a YouTube Channel Using ChatGPT. My goal is to write a new blog, YouTube, and newsletter post every week.

Fixed a broken Dyson V11 trigger.

Copilot - Invesment App - This app allows you to connect to your brokerage account and trades for you when your favorite/least favorite billionaire/politician/hedge fund makes a trade. Not financial advice, not connected with them in anyway, and I don’t have any money in it, just thought its an interesting app.

Signed up for Patreon - My goal is to provide a TON of value to the world through newsletters, blogs, YouTube, work, projects, relationships, etc. I hope to keep doing that for an extremely long amount of time. In doing so, I’d like to create a membership platform where I’ll share exclusive content, processes, ideas, and projects that I’m fumbling through which I’m not comfortable sharing with the general public. It’s going to take some time, but more to come when things start to grow.

Quote of the week

“If each of us hires people who are smaller than we are, we shall become a company of dwarfs. But if each of us hires people who are bigger than we are, we shall become a company of giants.”

David Ogilvy, Ogilvy on Advertising

Stop by and say hi. Love to hear what you guys think about the newsletter. See ya next week!

#jokeoftheweek answer: Adele